With so many scared, talentless, idiotic and drug addicted Hollywood executives, we are given tons of re-makes and movies based on television series.  I’m surprised that it took Hollywood this long to make a movie based on the 1980s hit series that I watched when I was a teenager.  And I’m glad they did make this movie, because it has a similar feel to the tv series; and it is fun, highly entertaining, very loud, over the top, and as improbable as a politician being faithful to his wife.

Two things make “The A-Team” work: a fast pace and very likeable characters (Hannibal, Faceman, B.A., and Murdock).  You just want these guys to win.   Special effects, big name movie stars, fancy editing, cool music…those are nothing compared to the importance of the audience connecting with the main characters.  A movie that fails to create characters that the audience will emotionally connect to — be it negatively or positively — is a movie that is in danger of being a “rice cake”: no substance and leaving you unsatisfied.  Well, “The A-Team” is no “rice cake.” I enjoyed watching it and I recommend it to any fan of the series.

Oh, Dirk Benedict (the original Faceman) and Dwight Shultz (the original Murdock) make appearances in this movie.  George Peppard couldn’t be part of the movie due to circumstances beyond his control.   Mr. T didn’t want to be in the movie partly because characters are killed in this movie.  Hmm…true, the series didn’t kill anyone, as far as I can remember.  But I also remember we made fun of the series because of that.  No matter how many times a car would flip or how many bullets were flying, no one got killed!

As I said, this movie is highly unrealistic, so I don’t know why this one scene bothered me: when Hannibal disappears into the darkness as two Rottweilers run toward him to maul him.  A struggle is heard, followed by dogs whimpering, then the two Rotties run away, their collars now joined by a pair of handcuffs.  I think I just wanted to see exactly how Hannibal did it, no matter how ridiculous the manner.

My most memorable movie moment of “The A-Team” is the sequence where the A-Team steals a military, cargo plane carrying a tank; and they get chased by 2 Unmanned Aerial Vehicles that try to shoot the A-Team down with missiles and machine-gun fire.  This is one of the most ridiculous, action sequences I’ve ever seen; and I wouldn’t be surprised if the idea for it was created by writers and Hollywood execs having a 48 hour orgy in a mansion where the hookers and drugs flowed freely.  And you know what?  I liked it!  The ridiculous, action sequence, that is.  Not the 2 day orgy with hookers and drugs.  Although I would like that, too, just without the drugs.

M

