The 2012 version of “Red Dawn” has North Korea using EMPs (electro-magnetic pulses) and cyber-warfare to weaken America’s defenses in order to drop their troops onto U.S. soil and finish the job using conventional warfare.  Chris Hemsworth, playing a U.S. Marine Corps vet on leave to spend time with his family, turns his brother and other High School kids into an irregular, fighting unit that puts a serious kink into the invading force’s operations in Hemsworth’s home town.  The name Hemsworth gives his unit?  Wolverines!  Cool, huh?  I think I would name my unit Ladybugs.  Imagine the morale problem my enemies would have if they got their butts kicked by a group called the Ladybugs!

For those of you young enough to not know that cell phones used to be the size of bricks, “Red Dawn” (2012) is a remake of a 1980s movie of the same name.  Which is better?  The original, but not by much.   I was surprised that I liked the remake as much as I did; but hey, I have to give credit to the 2012 version: it’s entertaining, moves at a fast clip, and it had one big, dramatic moment that got me really emotionally involved in the movie.

That dramatic moment is my most memorable, movie moment of “Red Dawn” (2012).  It is the scene when Hemsworth’s father has been captured by the North Koreans, and is being used to tell his children to come out of hiding and turn themselves in to the invading soldiers, who supposedly will give them fair treatment.  The father is handed a microphone, and he tells his children that he loves them; and that he wishes for them to do what he would do: to fight and kill the enemy.  The unexpected direction of the father’s speech is not taken well with the North Koreans, and the father suffers for it.

As I watched this movie, I wondered if I could do what the Wolverines did: live out in the forest, starving, freezing, no bathrooms, no hot showers, risking getting shot or blown up with a grenade…ummmm, no.   I like to be comfortable.  I freak out when I get a little chip on my sports car.   I like doing my business in a clean bathroom, with four walls and a roof, and plenty of toilet paper and clean, running water.   So…if the North Koreans want NYC, they can have it.  I always wanted to move out west, anyway.

M

