Three college kids, two of whom are sweethearts (played by Brenton Thwaites and Olivia Cooke) are on a road trip to bring Cooke to her new college; and along the way they are taunted by a computer hacker whom the 3 young people track down to some crappy house in a crappy part of the desert…at night!  And if you haven’t already guessed, the 3 youngsters are white. Oh, white people in horror movies, when will you ever learn?

Well, the trap is set.  Cooke disappears from the car, the 2 guys look for her, they catch a glimpse of her standing outside in the dark, and her body is snatched up into the sky by an invisible force.  Loud noises and bright lights follow, then darkness.­­­  Thwaites finds himself in a wheelchair, dazed, unable to move his legs, and being interrogated by Laurence Fishburne, who wears a biohazard suit.

So, what do we have here?  Did the 3 young people encounter an E.T.?  Are they part of some elaborate hoax?  Maybe a government experiment?  These are all questions I had going through my twisted mind; and they will be going through your own minds when you watch “The Signal.”  It is a small, indie movie, but it’s a solid suspense/thriller/sci-fi flick. It does move slowly in the first act, though, so bear with that and give it a chance.  I believe you’ll find it’s worth your time.

One of my most memorable moments of this movie is the scene when it is revealed why Thwaites has a hard time moving his legs.  Shocking!  Plus I couldn’t help wanting to keep looking at what happened to him.  Kind of like a car accident, I suppose.

Coming in at the top of the list for my most memorable, movie moment of “The Signal” is the scene at the end that revealed to me what is really going on.  That’s all I can say about that without being an ass and revealing too much.

One last thing: have you noticed how big Fishburne’s face has become in the past 10 years?  Actually, his whole head.  I’m surprised they found a helmet that fit him.

— M

